Refurbishing some Estate Pipes (1 of 7)

The “Nasty Seven” as I call them were gifted to me from a friend from http://www.my-pipes.com. Being new to pipe crafting, I thought it a good idea to try my hand at refurbishing.

This gentleman obviously loved his pipes, but I’m quite sure a pipe cleaner or reamer was never sold within a hundred miles of his residence. I had my hands full as these pipes are heavily caked, the bowl rims are either coated in gunk, or severely cracked or chipped. The stems were very dirty and oxidized. Basically, “The Nasty Seven”…

Below are some of the pipes with “before” and “after” pics.
The first being a Dr. Grabow Westbrook pickaxe. The biggest flaw on this pipe was the large chunk missing from the upper bowl.

Well, after a lot of scraping, reaming, sanding, cleaning and some cussing, I present to you the new Grabow!

This is post (1) in a series of (7). I’m having fun with this trying to see I can do with these pipes.

2 Responses to Refurbishing some Estate Pipes (1 of 7)

  1. Shaun says:

    Very nice work! I’ve gotte get a bunch of pipes I have and start refurbishing them.

  2. Thanks for stopping by Shaun! This is fun. Should you do some refurbishing, and have any questions, feel free to give me a bump.

Leave a comment